Crock Pot Apple Butter

Below is an email that I wrote and sent to my family with the recipe for this amazing Apple Butter I made in the crock pot. I LOVE my crock pot. We actually did not get a single crock pot for our wedding, so we traded in a drill (since we already had one) and bought a wonderful crock pot. I even make a Caramel Apple Oatmeal (yet another Southern Living recipe) in there. Fantastic. I wanted to post about the Apple Butter today since I opened a jar I had made last October because we made biscuits to go with our eggs and old-fashioned grits for lunch. Since it is difficult to purchase White Lily flour outside of the south (though we could find it at the Pay Less in West Lafayette, IN) I just made my own self-rising flour. Add 1 1/2 tsp. Baking Powder (aluminum free!) and 1/2 tsp. Salt for every Cup of flour. It should be noted that White Lily flour is the quintessential southern flour, and I was taught very well by Joseph’s southern mama (his sister’s MIL) how to make real southern biscuits and fried chicken.

As a note, I LOVE my hand held blender. What Emeril always calls his “boat motor”. I just stick the hand blender into the crock pot directly and blend the Apple Butter. It is so much easier, and it doesn’t scratch my crock pot, and I don’t have to process it in batches. That would take forever. It should also be noted that my dear husband does most of the peeling and chopping of the apples for me, since I admittedly have weak hands, and no apple peeler/corer. Birthday or Christmas present, please?

I made the MOST delicious apple butter with the fabulous help of my wonderful husband. This is the crock pot recipe that I used, and the single batch completely filled my crock pot, but it was delicious. I filled 5 12 oz. quilted crystal jars, with some left-over for me and Isabella to snack on (complete with apple butter mustaches). I used 3 lbs. of Honeycrisp, 2 lbs. of Suncrisp, and 1 lb. of Courtland apples. I look forward to trying different combos of apples, and I had never had the Suncrisp before and they work really well in the apple butter. It is by far the best apple butter I have ever eaten, and I made it myself! Having never canned anything before I am feeling proud of my domestic prowess.

6 pounds of apples. After weighing, peel, core and chop them (It’s tastiest if you use a few different kinds of sweet apples, like Gala, Fuji, Braeburn or the Delicious varieties)

4 cups of sugar (you could probably use less)

3 teaspoons cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon salt.

Mix the dry ingredients then pour over the apples and toss. Cook in a crockpot on high for an hour and then on low for 10 hours. Remove the lid and cook for another hour.

At this point, you can put it through a food processor or blender (as we did) to make it extra smooth. Just do it in very small batches. It will be really hot and could burn you. It does some kind of crazy weird expanding trick in the blender when it’s hot, so I only fill it half full and blend it on the lowest possible setting. I don’t even push the button all the way in. I just sort of pulse it.

Spoon into clean jars (leaving about a half inch headroom), put the lids on and process in a hot water bath for 20 minutes. Ours was gently boiling.

If you want to skip the hot water bath, you can just freeze your jars (plain old jars have worked just fine in the freezer for us – just let them cool to room temperature before putting them in the freezer). We tried freezing with one of our jars of apple butter, just to see if it would alter the texture once it was frozen and then defrosted. Nope, no difference. It worked great!

I would love to give credit to the website that I was given as a recommendation for amazing homemade Apple Butter, but I can’t seem to find the page. I will add the info if I can find it.


Leave a Reply

