An Introduction

I absolutely and emphatically adore being a stay at home mom and homemaker to my husband and dear daughter. Since I am pregnant with a little boy I find myself thinking about food and eating food a lot. Much of the time my husband either does the cooking himself, or I help him, but we are creating the menu together. I am finding that with since we have been staying with my parents there are more people to make sugary baked goods for and I have enjoyed making recipes that I had been wanting to try out, or cooking the foods that we have enjoyed for years to share with my family. My Mother-in-Law, the greatest cake baker I know, suggested that I start this blog since I started writing more about my cooking on our family’s blog. This blog is a forum for me to keep track of favorite recipes, keep a list of lunches and dinners we love so I have easy access to them, and write about my life as a cooking mom. I will also give my opinion of our favorite brands, talk about cooking for a man who has personal dietary restrictions (no sweets or sugary foods), and try to relate personal experiences and family history stories that I remember through the food that I cook. My style is southern and farm house cooking, which is why most of the recipes I will share are from Southern Living magazine, one of my greatest sources of cooking and baking inspiration, not to mention homemaking and decorating. Please share with me your stories and leave comments. I enjoy knowing that I might be helping inspire others in their cooking, or receiving new recipes to try and pass along.

4 thoughts on “An Introduction

  1. Congratulations on expecting! We are so happy to hear your wonderful news!!! Miss you guys and hope you’re doing well. Thanks for the link to this blog. It’s always fun to hear your writing style 🙂

    • Thanks, Sarah. We are really excited about it, and I figured since I spend a lot of time in the kitchen and eating it would be fun to blog about it! 🙂 Hope you’re doing well!

  2. Laurel, this is a great idea. I could use a lot of inspiration in the kitchen. I have always wanted to be more of a chef rather “warmer upper” so I will look forward to your postings. Congratulations to you! A little boy will be a welcomed addition to your wonderful family.

    • I hope to provide some inspiration to others because we really enjoy cooking and eating good food. I have a lot of ideas for a variety of posts, especially as we get into the colder months since I am always more inspired to cook yummy comfort food in the Fall and Winter. I hope your family is doing well up north! I bet it is so beautiful!

Leave a Reply

