Twice Baked Potatoes

Many nights, as much as we love to eat and cook, we do not feel equal to either making or eating a large meal. We believe in moderation in all things and meat does not always have to be involved. It is involved with the potatoes in the form of bacon; a small amount to give a rich flavor, while not having serious meat with the dish. I love bacon but since I am pregnant I have been trying to avoid it because of the nitrates. It drives me crazy to smell it cooking, but I can get the added flavor of the bacon when it is sparsely sprinkled on top. I have a husband who grew up in Idaho and yet does not love potatoes like I, a Pennsylvanian turned southerner, do. However, we can have potatoes as a main course for dinner if we do them up just right. With this meal I have no recipe I follow, I just go by look, taste, and feel. The more butter and sour cream the better.

To start I prep the potatoes, in this case it was Joseph prepping for me, by scrubbing them in water and taking off any eyes or funny spots. I slit the top in just the middle, down to about the center of the potato, and then rub the skins with E.V.O.O. and salt. (I forgot about lemon juice the last time I made them, which is also delicious to add on the skins before baking.) The potatoes roast in a 400° oven for an hour, or until they are really soft in the middle. Once they are cool enough to handle I slice them in half, and scoop out the insides, leaving just a little bit to help the soft skin stay in one nice half piece. With 8 medium sized potatoes I added aprox. ¼ C. butter, and a cup of light Daisy© Sour Cream, seasoning to my taste with salt and pepper. I cooked up a head of fresh broccoli; Joseph cut about ¼ C. Green Onion, and 2 C. of mild cheddar cheese, leaving enough to sprinkle on top before baking. He then crumbled the Smithfield bacon on top when we were all done assembling. They went into the 350° oven for 20 minutes until the cheese was all nice and melty. Absolutely delicious! I do not need anything else for dinner except these potatoes. The best part is that you can customize your potatoes to suit your family’s taste.

Daisy© Sour Cream is the best Sour Cream we have tasted. Wegman’s brand is fine to cook with, but the real good stuff is the Daisy Sour Cream. We have not gone back to eating any other brand since first tasting the Daisy.

With the bacon we prefer Smithfield©. A southern brand that tastes the way bacon should: good. 

Leave a Reply

