My Personal Cornbread Recipe

I have spent a long time trying to perfect my cornbread recipe. We love cornbread and I have tried a number of recipes and have not found the perfect cornbread that both my husband and I love. This is a southern-style cornbread without the sweet. I loved the sweet, cake-like cornbread of my Virginia university’s cafeteria, a change from the northern-style cornbread I grew up eating. However, having a husband who loves cornbread and does not love sugar I had to find a great recipe that makes him happy, too. So, this is my recipe.

My Cornbread

1 C. Self-rising Flour

1 C. Cornmeal

1/2 tsp. Baking Soda

1/2 tsp. Salt

1 C. Buttermilk

1 large Egg or 2 small Eggs

1/3 C. Canola Oil

  • Set oven at 400°, and turn down to 350° when putting the cornbread in the oven. Bake for 30 minutes, until toothpick comes out clean.
  • Sift the dry ingredients together. I had to make my own self-rising flour this time by adding 1 1/2 tsp. baking powder, and 1/2 tsp. salt to the all-purpose flour, since it is impossible to find White Lily flour in the North.
  • Mix wet ingredients. Once again I make my buttermilk myself. We had a hard time finding good tasting buttermilk so I just add a capful of white distilled vinegar to 1 C. of milk (whole or 2%) and let it sit while I am getting other things ready.
  • Mix dry and wet ingredients thoroughly together. I like to bake my cornbread in a buttered pie dish