Dad’s Waffles

My father makes amazing waffles almost every Sunday. This Sunday dinner has been a tradition in our family since I was about 6 years old. My mother bought him a waffle iron as a gift for some special occasion and it came with this recipe. So I have no clue where the recipe actually comes from, but it is delicious, and by far the best waffle recipe I know of. I remember going to the Target with my brother in recent years to buy dad a new waffle iron for a Christmas present, but I’m not sure if he was still using that original iron or not. One of the staple presents found under the tree on Christmas morning was a paper bag with a bow that had as many flavors of the Smucker’s fruit syrups as we could find, just so that we had more syrup to enjoy with our waffles after opening all of our present. Unfortunately we never found a belgian waffle iron in the store, but that will have to come from Santa for some other Christmas.

To me Sunday’s always feel like a day when waffles should be served for dinner; either that or a nice Pot Roast in the crock pot, but that can wait for another post. Warm waffles are perfect after a day filled with church meetings, and long afternoon naps. I have tried to continue this tradition in my own family, and for a family gift a few years ago my husband got us a waffle iron. It’s closer to belgian than my father’s, but one day we plan on having the real thing. The first time we ever tried out our waffle iron we were completely surprised by the waffle “tone” that tells you when the iron is hot and when the waffle is done cooking. It is more like a bear horn or smoke alarm than a “tone”. Other apartments must have thought that our smoke alarm went off a lot, but in reality it was just a waffle iron letting us know in a not-so-subtle way that it was ready. I just do not want the sound to scare our children and give them painful memories of Sunday waffles.

Dad’s Waffles

1 1/3 C. Flour

3 tsp. Baking Powder (Aluminum free)

1/4 tsp. Salt

3 Eggs, separated

1/3 C. Canola Oil

1 1/4 C. Milk

  • Sift together dry ingredients.
  • Separate the eggs. I put my egg whites into our Kitchen Aid mixer with the whisk attachment and whip them on High until they are stiff.
  • Whisk together egg yolks, milk and oil.
  • Add to the dry ingredients, mixing well.
  • Fold in stiff egg whites.

If this recipe appears to be missing an ingredient that’s because it is. I was dubious at first about leaving out the sugar from the recipe, but my husband could not eat as many or enjoy them as much with the sugar in. Then I realized I did not need the extra sugar in the batter because the sugar does not affect the resulting waffle except in taste, and since I add syrup I do not notice the lack of sugar in the batter at all. I love having a husband who cannot eat sugar (most of the time, except when he can’t enjoy my delicious pies or desserts) because it has allowed me to alter how I eat, and eat healthier because of it.

Leave a Reply

