Beef and Broccoli Pie

This pie was a staple dinner in my home when I was growing up. My mother believed in getting a copy of the Relief Society’s cookbook in every ward she moved into with my father, back in the day when those were readily made and available. When they moved to Maryland she got their cookbook, which contains this gem of a recipe. I was happy when I made it for my husband and he enjoyed it also. With some of the difficulties I sometimes have in finding main dishes that my husband will enjoy as much as I do it is always exciting to find another dish to add to our repertoire. I am naturally a pie person- it’s in the genes, but I love the richness of this savory pie. It is not too time consuming, just make sure before cooking the meat mixture that you have everything set up, chopped up, measured and the bottom crust is cooked and cooling. Over the years of making this dish my husband and I have realized that the density of the meat mixture prevents the bottom crust from cooking fully, so the last time we made this, we experimented by cooking the bottom crust. I ended up burning the bottom crust first because we got distracted by a phone call and forgetting to reset the timer, so I just scrapped that one and quickly made new dough for a 1-crust. My husband cut out the least burned section and ate it himself. One of his very favorite treats is my pie crust, just cooked on a cookie sheet. So dinner was a bit late that night, but because the bottom crust was already cooked it did not take an hour to cook the pie. The recipe says 40 minutes but I almost always end up cooking recipes in the oven longer than the recipe calls for. 

Beef and Broccoli Pie

1 lb ground beef

¼ cup chopped onion

2 Tbs All-purpose flour

¾ tsp salt

¼ tsp garlic powder

1 ¼ cup milk

1 3 oz. cream cheese (softened)

1 beaten egg

2 heads of Broccoli, cooked and well drained

or 1 10 oz. pkg. frozen broccoli, but I never recommend using frozen vegetables

4 oz. Monterey Jack cheese

Milk

Double Crust for 9-inch pie plate

  • Roll out dough and fit into a 9-inch pie plate – trim. Poke holes into it with a fork and bake for 8 minutes, or until cooked, at 425°. Set aside and let cool.
  • In skillet, brown ground beef and onion; drain off fat.
  • Stir in flour, salt, and garlic powder. Add milk and cream cheese; cook and stir until mixture is thick and smooth. Add a moderate amount of hot mixture to beaten egg; return to mixture in skillet. Cook and stir over medium heat for 1-2 minutes or till thick. For best results the mixture should still be slightly soupy, for lack of a better term. Don’t cook all that nice liquid out of the meat mixture.
  • Stir in cooked Broccoli. I steam my broccoli in the microwave for about 7 minutes, until soft and the edges of the stems are turning slightly brown.
  • Spoon meat mixture into cooked pie crust.
  • Grate Monterey jack cheese and sprinkle on top of the meat mixture in the crust.
  • Roll out remaining dough and put on top. Trim and seal edges; cut slits for escape of steam. I always try to cut a broccoli shape in the middle for fun.
  • Brush top of pie with a little milk.
  • Bake in 350 F oven for 40 minutes. If pastry browns too quickly, cover with foil the last 20 minutes. Let stand 10 minutes before serving.

Adapted From: Kreative Kooking from Kensington Kitchens

Leave a Reply

