My Waldorf Salad with Grilled Chicken

When I was a little girl I hated nuts. Any nuts, all nuts- but mostly walnuts. My mother would add them to brownies, and when I finished my brownie she would find a neat pile of perfectly clean walnuts, looking fresh from the bag. My daughter has the same dislike of walnuts, though thankfully she loves other kinds of nuts. It took me to get to adulthood before I appreciated what nuts can be and become. But I still don’t like Walnuts. They are okay, but I think I would almost always replace walnuts with pecans.

For the Relief Society broadcast and dinner tonight I am taking a Waldorf Salad with Grilled Chicken. I have looked at a number of recipes online, but ended up just making up my own along the way. I will guesstimate my measurements, but I enjoy making recipes where I can go with the flow and just add by sight and taste.

My Waldorf Salad with Grilled Chicken

2 Jonagold and 2 Macintosh apples, cut into small pieces

2 C. red seedless grapes, cut in half

2 stalks of celery, chopped

3/4 C. walnuts, chopped

2 chicken breasts grilled with McCormick’s Roasted Garlic and Herb seasoning

1/2 C. light mayonaise

1 C. low fat plain yogurt

1-2 Tbs. honey

dash of salt

  • Chop up the first 4 ingredients.
  • Combine the last 4 ingredients in a separate bowl.
  • Mix together and enjoy! 

It will probably come out slightly different every time I make it, but I think this might become a new staple for my daughter and I to enjoy.

Leave a Reply

