Italian Chicken Soup

I love my crock pot. I love kitchen gadgets and appliances, but I would not survive without my crock pot. My parents got 3 for their wedding in 1975. In 2004 we got none. So we traded in one of the 3 drills we received and got a crock pot. I can’t cook delicious and tender meat with a drill. I’ve never tried, but I don’t think it would work too well.

I speak on my love of the crock pot because I made the Pioneer Woman’s Italian Chicken soup tonight for dinner. Since my mom’s flat stovetop (which we all hate) does not handle dutch ovens I decided to cook up the 14 chicken drumsticks that I am using to replace the whole chicken cut up in the crock pot so I could get wonderfully juicy and completely cooked chicken, without having to work at it. I put the drumsticks in, added 1 C. of water, salt, pepper, and Bell seasoning set it on high for an hour, and turned down to low to cook until I felt equal to dealing with taking the skin and bones out. I used chicken stock instead of chicken broth, though I wouldn’t be able to tell you what the exact difference in taste there is in doing this. Maybe I’ll try the Swanson broth in this next time.

Overall I enjoyed the soup. I think for the next time I will try using fresh tomatoes, so there is no real thick tomato juices, and probably use Italian seasoning, instead of just oregano. It all has to do with personal taste preferences. My family enjoyed it, and I like the idea of the soup, and now that I’ve made it once I can mess around with the recipe to suit our tastes best. It was also missing some kind of crusty bread or fresh breadsticks, which I am thinking about making tonight to go with our leftovers.

3 thoughts on “Italian Chicken Soup

  1. The recipe is the link highlighted in red. I try to make them bright enough to spot, since I sometimes don’t feel like adding the whole recipe on here, especially when it is online already. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Cinnamon-Sugar Breadsticks « Quality Cooking

Leave a Reply

