Apple Cranberry Pie

I have formed a repertoire of pies that I love to make. I will always continue to make those pies, but lately I have started to feel experimental, wanting to expand the number of delicious pies that I make. So after perusing Farm Journals Complete Pie Cookbook I found a recipe for Apple Cranberry pie that sounded so good. I find myself becoming more adept at adjusting recipes to my liking or adding things I like from one recipe to another. Here is my adaptation of this tart pie recipe. The recipe that I was using was actually from the section on Freezer pie fillings, so this filling (without the lemon juice, and with melted butter mixed in, instead of butter pieces) could be made up and frozen when the apples you love are fresh and eaten a few months afterwards. I love freezing pie fillings and using them easily whenever I feel like a fresh pie. This pie is seriously amazing! I am not sure how often I will now make an Apple pie without Cranberries. It is sweet and tart inside a flaky crust, what could be more wonderful? 

Apple Cranberry Pie

Double Pie Crust

4-5 C. apples, sliced (This time I used Jonagold and Macintosh)

2 C. fresh cranberries

1-2 tsp. lemon juice

1 C. granulated sugar

3/4 C. dark brown sugar

1 tsp. cinnamon

sprinkling of nutmeg

2 Tbs. cold butter

  • Combine all ingredients and add to the bottom crust.
  • Put butter sporadically on top, covering the whole pie.
  • Place top crust on top, and cut slits or a design (I like to make an apple) for the steam to escape and plan on the juices dripping out and burning. Putting the pie on a baking sheet with small, raised edges kept all those juices from spilling onto the bottom of the oven.
  • Bake at 425° for an hour, or until the crust is beautifully browned and the juices are bubbling.
One thought on “Apple Cranberry Pie

  1. Pingback: Peppered Beef Stew « Quality Cooking

Leave a Reply

