Spinach and Artichoke Dip

My husband and I love Spinach and Artichoke Dip, yet I have never tried making it before today. I can still remember eating it together in Applebee’s restaurant when we were dating. I was flipping through the Crock-Pot cookbook looking for new recipes to try and I came across this dip. It is easy and delightful. We ate it with Triscuits, which I can only imagine is somewhat healthier than potato chips or corn chips, and my mom topped her hamburger with it. Anyway you eat it it tastes good. Ours definitely had more onion and garlic than the actual recipe calls for. Mmmmmm. 

Spinach and Artichoke Dip

2 8 oz. packages of cream cheese, softened

3/4 C. half and half

1/2 small onion, finely chopped

3 cloves of garlic, minced

1/2 C. Parmesan cheese, grated

1 10 oz. box frozen cut spinach, thawed and well drained

1 13 oz. can quartered artichoke hearts, rinsed, drained and chopped

2/3 C. Monterey Jack cheese, shredded (We used Pepper Jack cheese)

  • Combine the cream cheese and half and half (or 1/2 C. heavy whipping cream and 1/4 C. whole milk) in a bowl until well blended. I used a potato masher to blend it as well as I could without splashing milk all over the place. 
  • Add the remaining ingredients and stir well.
  • Pour the mixture into crock pot; cook on High for 1 1/2- 2 hours, or until warm. 
Adapted from the Crock-Pot recipe booklet. 
2 thoughts on “Spinach and Artichoke Dip

  1. My mom has been eating it as the filling for a sandwich, using our Pepperidge Farm Very Thin Wheat bread, and taking it for her lunches. We enjoy it with Triscuits. It’s a very delicious and easy recipe.

Leave a Reply

