Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip cookies

I love peanut butter. I also love chocolate. This is the best of both worlds in one cookie! I have enjoyed making Ourbestbites.com’s Peanut Butter Sandwich cookies, and will make them again, but I think that rolling the cookies in sugar, and then adding the frosting, is a bit overkill for my personal taste. I love sweet, but they are really sweet. Perhaps it’s a good thing because then I don’t eat too many. My sister, who told me about ourbestbites.com, also told me about melskitchencafe.com, another great cooking website. On this website I found my new favorite Peanut Butter cookie recipe. With both recipes I cut them in half because I honestly do not need 4-5 dozen peanut butter cookies. So here is the recipe, cut in half.

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip cookies

1/2 C. butter, softened

1 C. smooth peanut butter

3/4 C. firmly packed dark brown sugar (I’m never a fan of light brown sugar)

1/2 C. granulated sugar

1 large egg

3/4 Tbs. milk

3/4 tsp. vanilla

1 1/4 C. all-purpose flour

3/4 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. baking powder

1/4 tsp. salt

1 C. chocolate chips (or combination of peanut butter and chocolate chips)

  • Preheat the oven to 350°.
  • Beat together butter and peanut butter.
  • Sift together the flour, soda, powder, and salt.
  • Add sugar to the mixer and continue to beat with the butter and peanut butter. Add the egg, milk and vanilla.
  • Mix in flour mixture, stopping before fully mixed. Add in the chocolate chips and finish mixing.
  • Put onto baking sheet and bake 11 minutes. They will puff up so I took them out of the oven after 11 minutes, when they are lightly browned and look done, and lightly press down the tops of the cookies, and bake for another 1-2 minutes to finish cooking the inside.
  • Cool on the rack and enjoy! 
Adapted from Mel’s Kitchen Cafe
Leave a Reply

