Chewy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

This recipe for Oatmeal Raisin cookies are as vintage as the butter spotted notecard they were written on in my mother’s cursive handwriting. I wish that I was making them while wearing a dress, heels and the proverbial pearl necklace of the 1950’s housewife. These wonderful chewy cookies remind me of my childhood. I think my appreciation for them has grown as I have become an adult because, let’s face it, I would rather have been eating chocolate chip cookies rather than something that seemed healthy. No matter whether they seem healthy or not they are delicious- and it never hurts to eat something delicious that has more health benefits than so many other sweets I could make. 

Chewy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

1 C. sifted flour

3/4 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. salt

1 tsp. cinnamon

1/4 tsp. nutmeg

3/4 C. shortening, softened (I usually use 1/2 C. lard & 1/4 C. butter)

1 C. firmly packed brown sugar

2 eggs

1 tsp. vanilla

2 C. Oats, uncooked (5 min. oats)

1 C. raisins

  • Pre-heat oven to 350°.
  • Sift together dry ingredients.
  • Beat shortening for a few minutes before adding sugar, eggs, & vanilla.
  • Add in dry ingredients.
  • Mix in oats and raisins.
  • Drop by aprox. tablespoonful onto parchment paper on an air bake cookie sheet.
  • Bake for 12 minutes and cool on a wire rack. I like to use a metal spatula to remove the cookies from the parchment paper so it is nice and clean to use for the next batch of cookies. 
Leave a Reply

