Meringue Cookies

I made my delicious Lemon Meringue pie the other day, and my daughter only wanted to eat the pie crust and the meringue. She has not yet acquired the taste for the lemon filling yet. I do like my filling extra tangy, so maybe the taste is a bit mature for her taste buds. This is the same daughter, however, who licks the flour off of the bottom of her pizza and calls it “frosting”. If it looks like powdered sugar or frosting she loves it. So I started to think that she might enjoy Meringue cookies, which I have never made before. So I set out to find a recipe that we would enjoy. After all the looking and reading I ended up making up my own recipe. This is approximately what I did. I tend to eyeball additions like nuts and chocolate, and you can add or subtract what you like. 

Meringue Cookies

3 egg whites

2/3 C. granulated sugar

1/2 tsp. cream of tartar

1/2 tsp. vanilla

1/2 C. chopped slivered almonds (Could add more)

1 C. semi-sweet chocolate chips

  • Pre-heat the oven to 350°.
  • Beat the egg whites. Add cream of tartar after frothy.
  • Halfway through add sugar a few tablespoons at a time. In the middle of the sugar add the vanilla. 
  • Beat until the egg whites make stiff peaks and look glossy. 
  • Fold in nuts and chocolate. 
  • Put in dollops onto parchment paper. 
  • Place in the oven and turn it off. Let the cookies sit in the cooling oven for at least 2 hours, preferably more. 

Leave a comment