Basic Taco Seasoning

I know my sister gave me this simple, 3 ingredient, recipe for my homemade taco seasoning. I have no clue where she got it from. I love it, in all its simple glory. Basic, easy and homemade, and we love all things homemade in my family. Another ingredient we love is the Stand and Stuff hard taco shells by Old El Paso. It is so much easier to make the classic taco with these wonderful shells. While we love all things homemade every now and then it is nice to open and box, bake in the oven and enjoy. Easy often trumps homemade, though thankfully not every night. 

Basic Taco Seasoning

2 tsp. Garlic Powder

2 tsp. Cumin

1 tsp. Chili powder

  • Mix together and add to 1 lb. cooked hamburger, chicken, or meat of your choice. It is simple to make more depending on how seasoned you like your beef. Do not add any water, either. Sloppy, wet beef is a turn-off in my opinion. 
2 thoughts on “Basic Taco Seasoning

  1. Huh, I will have to try it. I always make my own too, but my recipe has more spices, and chili powder is the main ingredient. Yours would definitely be easier. 🙂

    • What is your recipe? I am interested to see what other spices are in yours. I like this one because of its ease, and it tastes like taco seasoning. You can easily increase all the spices to be the same amount if you like more chili powder. I just don’t want my tacos tasting like chili. Glad you are enjoying my blog.

Leave a Reply

