Snickerdoodles

My husband was wondering why Snickerdoodle cookies do not have Snicker’s bars in them. Good question with no good answer. I guess, really, the best answer is that Snickerdoodle cookies are simplistic, yet yummy. My daughter simply adored the batch I made yesterday and that is what truly matters. I already have a husband who does not eat sweets, no tomato based sauces, most fruits, brown sugar, molasses, and honey, or many vegetables; I do not want to lose my daughter to her father’s way of eating just yet. When I make a wonderful sweet from love I wish my whole family could enjoy it, but I will have to settle for one daughter enjoying it right now. Plus, after having had 2 children I do not need anything extra finding its way onto my body to stay awhile. At my husband’s request I did not roll out the last few cookies in the cinnamon-sugar mixture so he could eat a little bit. Not much, just a little. These cookies are a great use for my cream of tartar, too, which is difficult to find a use for other than meringue.

Snickerdoodles

2 1/2 C. all-purpose flour

2 tsp. cream of tartar

1 tsp. baking soda

3/4 tsp. salt

1 stick butter, softened

1/2 C. lard

1 1/2 C. granulated sugar

2 large eggs

1/4 tsp. almond extract*

1 Tbs. + 1 tsp. ground cinnamon

1/4 C. granulated sugar

  • Pre-heat oven to 375°.
  • Cream butter and lard in electric stand mixer.
  • Sift together dry ingredients.
  • Add sugar and eggs into butter/lard mixture.
  • Mix in dry ingredients. Roll dough into aprox. 2″ balls.
  • Roll the cookie balls in the cinnamon-sugar mixture. Place on baking sheet on top of parchment paper. 
  • Bake for 9-11 minutes. 
  • *Completely optional. I added it to give the cookie a little more flavor. 
Adapted from Melskitchencafe.com. 
One thought on “Snickerdoodles

  1. Reblogged this on Quality Cooking and commented:

    My daughter absolutely loves these cookies. They are not as flashy as some, as chocolatey as others, but their simplicity has won her over, and I will make them for her just because I love her. Maybe you will love them to.

Leave a Reply

