Best Lemon Meringue Pie Ever

It’s true, I do make the best Lemon Meringue pie ever. I am a pretty humble person most of the time, and I do not generally brag about my talents, mostly because as good as I am in whatever I do I know that there are people way better at it than I am. However, this is not true when it comes to my Lemon Meringue pie. It is the best. Period. When making the pie I am always grateful for my husband’s help stirring the cornstarch mixture into the boiling simple syrup. I am not the strongest person and I have weak wrists (thankfully I do not need strong wrists to play the organ) and stirring towards the very end when it is getting really hot and the mixture is really thickening up is difficult. So, when possible, have your special sous chef help. He also helped me by juicing and zesting the lemons, however that I know I can do by myself.

Best Lemon Meringue Pie Ever

Baked 9″ pie shell

1 1/2 C. sugar

1 1/2 C. water

1/2 tsp. salt

1/2 C. cornstarch

1/3 C. water

4 egg yolks

1/2 – 2/3 C. freshly squeezed lemon juice

3 Tbs. butter

2 tsp. grated lemon peel

4 egg whites

1/2 C. sugar

1/4 tsp. salt

If you like your pie extra lemony add closer to 2/3 C. of fresh lemon juice. I like mine richly lemon tasting, slightly tart, so I always add more than 1/2 C. but not quite 2/3 C. 

I like to get all of my sets of ingredients ready to go. I juice and zest the lemons, put the simple syrup into the pot waiting on the stovetop to be turned on, and mix the cornstarch and water.

  • Combine sugar and next 2 ingredients in a pan and heat over Med-High heat until boiling on the stove. Stir until all the sugar is dissolved.
  • Whisk together the cornstarch and water. Pour slowly into the boiling simple syrup, whisking constantly to avoid lumps. If you get white lumps in the pot after adding all the cornstarch you will need to strain the hot mixture in a wire strainer. I have had to do this more than I like. I find an immersion blender helpful when doing this part alone (Try not to get burned by flying bits!). Remove from the heat. 
  • Whisk the lemon juice and egg yolks together. Temper the hot mixture by adding a spoonful into the lemon mixture, whisk it up quickly not allowing the eggs to cook, and then slowly adding all the lemon mixture back into the pot. Return the pot to the burner and reheat over Med-High heat. 
  • After reheating add the butter and lemon zest and stir until the butter is dissolved. Set aside to cool. 
  • Pre-heat the oven to 325°. Once the pie shell and lemon mixture are cooled make the meringue topping. 
  • Add the salt to the egg whites and beat until frothy. Gradually add in 1/2 C. sugar, beating on high until stiff, glossy peaks are formed. This happens quickly once it is almost there, so watch carefully and do not over-beat. 
  • Take a good scoop of the meringue and mix into the lemon mixture before adding to the baked pie shell. Top with meringue, sealing all the edges to lock in the juices, and make peaks. 
  • Bake for 15 minutes, until the peaks are golden brown. 
Adapted slightly from Farm Journal’s Complete Pie Cookbook- Best-Ever Lemon Meringue Pie. 
Leave a Reply

