Strawberry-Lemon Muffins

The April 2012 issue of Southern Living had a culinary section devoted to strawberries. Of course it was in April when here in the North-East strawberries are not quite in season yet. So I waited until strawberry picking season came, and then remembered, when looking at the 6 quarts of berries we had just picked from a beautiful farm in the country, that I really wanted to try a recipe for Strawberry Lemonade Muffins. I adapted it, I made them, and I love them! Let me know what you think. 

Strawberry-Lemon Muffins

2 1/2 C. all purpose flour

3 3/4 tsp. baking powder

1 1/4 tsp. salt

1 C. sugar

3/4 C. sour cream

1/2 C. butter, melted

1/4 C. lemon juice

2 large eggs

2 C. strawberries, quartered when measured, then processed until slightly chunky

  • Preheat oven to 400°.
  • Sift together all dry ingredients.
  • Combine melted butter and lemon juice. Then whisk in the sour cream and 2 eggs.
  • Mix wet ingredients with the dry until the batter is moist with no dry spots.
  • Stir processed strawberries into the batter. 
  • Fill the papers in the muffin tins until almost full. 
  • Bake for 18 minutes, until a toothpick comes out clean.
If you wanted to jazz them up for a party or dessert you could make a simple frosting with powdered sugar, lemon juice, and a little zest just to give them that extra touch of sweetness. I think they are wonderful without anything on the top. 
 
As you can tell from this recipe I, once again, made my own self-rising flour because I did not have any on-hand. I also omitted the lemon zest, used bottled lemon juice, and used only 3/4 C. of sour cream, since that was all I had left in the fridge.  
 
Adapted from Southern Living
Leave a Reply

