Homemade Lard

I love lard. That sounds like a really funny statement, but its true! It is the best fat to use for basically everything and is by far, when made at home from scratch, the healthiest. My husband and I would like to personally thank Alton Brown, the Yoda of cooking, for this video. Watch it, and your life can be transformed, too. If the gods drank lard in its liquid form it would certainly be their nectar.We would also like to thank our new Food Network stainless steel dutch oven that allows us to make the lard. I do not think I can say enough good things about the stainless steel pots and pans, other than for cooking eggs. The eggs stick. I have not got the hang of it yet, and ever since my husband introduced me to eggs with a runny yolk I cannot look back to fried eggs with cooked yolks.

Now back to Lard! 

To reiterate from the video what Alton does to make lard from scratch is that you call up your butcher and purchase a few pounds of fatback. We have a local butchers shop where I got it for $1.25/lb. Freeze it first, but let it defrost so it is easy to cut. Then cut it into very small pieces, and cook it for several hours at 300°, squishing out the liquid lard every 30 minutes with a potato masher. We have the squiggly line potato masher and as well as the cool masher pictured below. Either will work fine. My husband used about 1/2 C. of water for approximately 2 1/2 pounds. The water will evaporate, but it will prevent the fat from sticking to the pan as the fat renders out. 

Squishing the lard out.

The final golden liquid once the lard is completely cooked and drained.
The final product after it has been in the refrigerator for a few hours.
Lard, in a solid state

Leave a Reply

