Blueberry Spinach Salad

If you have been wondering why I have been slow to post new recipes it is because we have been eating pretty basic meals the last week, and I have been completely engrossed reading The Bread Baker’s Apprentice: Mastering the Art of Extraordinary Bread by Peter Reinhart. I have been so psyched to try making my own artisan breads that my mind has been completely taken over with thoughts of preferments, barm, steam pans, and everything that is involved in making artisan bread that our creative cooking has been put on hold. However, I made a large list of recipes and meals I want to try soon, so hopefully I will get back to posting more frequently. Until then, go enjoy this salad!

My mom wanted to know what she could get from the farmer’s market this morning; I said any berries she could so we could try this fantastic salad for dinner. I do not like walnuts, as a general rule, but they were delightful in this salad. There were beautifully bitter notes against the sweet of the jam and berries. The balsamic in the vinaigrette packed quite a punch, so use less if you do not like that flavor very much. I may not eat enough salads, but I will look forward to making this one again. 

Blueberry Spinach Salad

1 C. chopped walnuts

1/3 C. Triple Berry Preserves

1/3 C. Extra Virgin Olive Oil

1/2 C. balsamic vinegar (or slightly less if you prefer)

Baby Spinach

Green Leaf Lettuce, cut into strips

1 C. blueberries

small red onion, finely minced

crumbled blue cheese

freshly grated parmesan

  • Toast the walnuts on the stovetop, over medium-low heat, until fragrant, about 4 minutes. Watch them carefully and make sure not to burn them. Whenever I follow directions for toasting nuts I inevitably burn them. 
  • Whisk together the preserves, evoo, and vinegar to make the vinaigrette. 
  • Make a mix of the lettuce and spinach that you like, and put your salad together however you choose. The greatest part about salads is that you can add more or less of anything you like or do not like. 

We ate our salads with a chicken breast grilled on the grill and then sliced, along with couscous. It was fantastic. 

Adapted from Southern Living’s Blueberry Fields Salad

 

Leave a Reply

