Oatmeal-Jam Bars

I am turning into that mom that always has homemade cookies for her children. My daughter asks me on a regular basis if I am going to make her some cookies. While lately her preference has run to Snickerdoodle cookies, I was going to make her some chocolate chip cookies today. It’s been a while since we have had good old fashioned chocolate chip cookies, and I was in the mood to eat them. When I went to the cupboard to get out the chocolate chips that I was sure were in there imagine my surprise when there they weren’t. I tend to get flustered in the kitchen and when anything goes wrong with what I had planned on I can’t think beyond that for a few moments. Thankfully, I have a wonderful husband who, when I went out to tell him that there were no chocolate chips in the cupboard, said, “Why don’t you make those oatmeal jam cookies you wanted to try?” Oh yeah, they were on my list of recipes to try. Have I mentioned that I love having him around? 

The Oatmeal-Jam bar cookies turned out great, and I look forward to messing around with this already terrific recipe. My daughter isn’t up yet for her nap, but I look forward to getting her opinion on them. Anything with oatmeal can’t be all that bad for you, right?

Oatmeal-Jam Bars

1/2 C. butter

6 Tbs. lard

1 1/2 C. all-purpose flour

1 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. salt

1 C. packed dark brown sugar

1 1/2 C. oats

12-oz preferred jam*

  • Preheat oven to 350°.
  • Sift together flour, powder and salt; mix in oatmeal and brown sugar. I like to get my hands a little dirty so I did all the mixing, other than the sifting, by hand. 
  • Cut in the butter and lard (or all butter, if you prefer) and mix until it is fully incorporated, and makes little balls. 
  • Butter a 13 x 9 pan, and press half of the oatmeal mixture into the bottom of the pan as evenly as you can. 
  • Spread the jam over the top. 
  • Sprinkle the remainder of the oatmeal mixture over the top and lightly press down, making sure not to squish the jam out the top. 
  • Bake until golden brown, 30-40 minutes. I baked mine for 37.5 minutes on the baking stone that seems to always be in the oven. I love the baking stone. 🙂 
*I made mine with 2 different jams: Strawberry Preserves on one half, and my Aunt’s fantastic Cinnamon-Pear jam on the other half. Personally I think that the Strawberry jam, while delicious, is a bit too sticky sweet for my taste. I loved the Cinnamon-Pear jam, and look forward to trying these with the jar of Elderberry jam I have sitting in the cupboard. I also want to try adding some cinnamon and pecans to the oatmeal mixture. 
 
Barely adapted from The Pioneer Woman’s Strawberry Oatmeal Bars
One thought on “Oatmeal-Jam Bars

  1. Pingback: Cinnamon « Quality Cooking

Leave a Reply

