Bacon and Cheese Frittata

This recipe was dinner last night. It was an easy meal night, an eggy kind of night, so the original plan was bacon omelets. I was not to keen on the thought of having to make individual omelets, especially since we were not sure who was going to be eating with us. I thought of changing the meal to a frittata; I had never made one before, though I knew it couldn’t be too difficult. I looked at a variety of recipes to get the sense of making one. I love dishes where you can add or subtract anything you want except the eggs. Both my husband and I do not like sausage very much, so I thought why not make a bacon frittata? Mmm, bacon! It is basically the omelet that I was going to have to make individually, and now it was a dish I could cut into slices to serve. Plus, it’s always a bonus to be able to go directly from the stovetop into the oven; I have really been enjoying the stainless steel pots and pans. Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, or any time in-between is a good time to eat a frittata. Especially when it has bacon in it. 

Bacon and Cheese Frittata

2 Tbs. butter

12 eggs

1/2 C. milk

1/2 packaged bacon, cooked and crumbled

salt & pepper to taste

1 3/4 C. sharp cheddar cheese, grated

1 medium onion, chopped small

  • Preheat oven to 350°.
  • In the same pan that you cooked the bacon in (preferably oven safe), after draining out most of the fat, heat to medium heat, adding in the butter until melted and cook the onion. I cooked mine until it was delightfully soft, but not caramelized, though it was still too cooked for my husband’s sensitive-to-sweet tastebuds. Next time I’ll cook them less, just because I love him. 
  • Beat the eggs with the milk, and salt and pepper. Pour part of this onto the cooked onions, add the crumbled bacon and cheese, and pour the remainder of the egg mixture over that. 
  • Cook on the stovetop pulling back the sides to allow uncooked egg to run to the bottom. 
  • Transfer the pan from the stovetop into the oven to cook for about 25 minutes, until the egg is set and fully cooked.
Leave a Reply

