Mint Chocolate Chip Cupcakes with Chocolate-Mint Buttercream

Apparently necessity really is the mother of invention. Who knew? I was making cupcakes for my husband’s birthday, not that he can eat them anyway so in reality I should have been making him something he could actually eat, and I was out of vanilla extract. Okay, almond extract would be good, says my husband, who wouldn’t eat it anyway, so agreeing with him I took out what I thought was almond. Truth be told the mint extract and the almond extract look identical in the cupboard and if your mind is at all distracted, like a mother’s mind often is, you might grab the wrong one. My husband already said you should make mint cupcakes. Then we laughed. Until I actually messed up and put mint extract in the batter. I did not realize it even upon pouring it out into the measuring spoons; it was once the batter spinning in the mixer sent up a minty smell I knew I had messed up. At first I was upset with myself for making such an error, however, since there was nothing I could do about it I figured we were going to have mint cupcakes. But wait, I can make this better since I have Andes mint chocolate chips and I can add those to the cupcakes, too. Once they were finished and baked, I tasted them and knew these would be my new favorite cupcakes. This recipe makes the most moist and delicious cupcake I have ever had, and I’m not much of a cake-eater. Make them and enjoy my mistake. 

Mint Chocolate Chip Cupcakes with Chocolate-Mint Buttercream

1 3/4 C. all-purpose flour

1/4 C. cornstarch

1/4 tsp. salt

2 tsp. baking powder

1 1/2 sticks unsalted butter, softened

1 1/2 C. granulated sugar

3 eggs

3/4 tsp. mint extract

3/4 C. sour cream

1/2 C. milk

1 C. Andes mint chocolate chips

  • Preheat the oven to 350°.
  • Whisk, or sift, together the flour, cornstarch, salt and baking powder.
  • Cream the butter and sugar until fluffy. Scrape down the sides, and add in the eggs, one at a time.
  • After the addition of the eggs slowly add in the extract, sour cream and milk. If the batter appears curdled do not pay any attention to it. I almost thought my batter was ruined, until I went ahead and added the flour mixture. It turned into the most beautifully silky batter I have ever made.
  • Beat in the flour mixture on medium speed. Add in the chips after the batter is completely mixed.
  • Fill muffin tins with cupcake papers and fill to 3/4 full.
  • Bake for 20 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean. They will look nicely rounded when you first take them out, but expect the centers to fall. So far I have no solution to this, except that it makes a nice bowl for extra frosting.

Mint Chocolate Buttercream Frosting

1 stick butter, softened

4 C. powdered sugar

1/2 tsp. sea salt

3/4 tsp. mint extract

1/2-1 C. melted dark chocolate chips

heavy whipping cream

  • Cream the butter in the mixer. Add in the extract.
  • Sift powdered sugar and add half into the butter. Start adding in the whipping cream to keeps large lumps from forming.
  • Add in the rest of the sugar, melted chocolate, salt and whipping cream to make frosting the desired consistency.

Adapted from Anne Burrell’s Sour Cream Cupcakes.

Leave a Reply

