Easy Hash Browns

I have some great recipes on the way, but I’ll start off with this basic recipe for delicious homemade hash browns. In the past my husband and I have had no clue how to make hash browns. We would boil the potatoes part of the way and then try to grate them, but the outside of the potato was always too cooked and the inside was raw. Practice makes perfect, and I am glad we are really perfecting the basics. Next I want to try to make smothered hash browns, just like I used to have late night at the Waffle House in Virginia during my college days. 

Easy Homemade Hash Browns

4 Russet potatoes

salt

pepper

garlic powder

cayenne pepper (optional)

butter

  • Peel the potatoes. After rinsing them off, finely grate them. A box grater would work fine, though give your muscles more of a workout, while we have been using the food processor with the grater attachment. It’s wonderful!
  • Put all the grated potato into ice cold water and let them sit for a short time. I usually stir them around with my finger a few times, and let them sit for around 15 minutes.
  • Dry them thoroughly while the pan is getting hot on the stovetop.
  • Put plenty, I mean a few tablespoons, of butter into the pan to melt. Add in the potatoes, probably not all at once, making sure they are a nice, even layer, not too thick. Sprinkle with salt, pepper, garlic powder, and any other seasonings.
  • Press them down onto the hot pan, and let them cook without touching them for at least a few minutes, until a golden brown crust is formed. Do the same with the other side, and cook until they are completely cooked.
Leave a Reply

